FPU Home FPU
University Home Academic GuideApplyInquire
sunbird logo mens track and field coaches
sports image

womens sports
Basketball
Cross Country
Soccer
Tennis
Track and Field
Volleyball
mens sports
Baseball
Basketball
Cross Country
Soccer
Tennis
Track and Field
sunbird sports
Awards
Hall of Fame
News
Opponents
Photo Gallery
Quick Facts

gsac home

naia home

FRESNO PACIFIC UNIVERSITY QUICK FACTS
Location Fresno, California
Founded 1944 (as Pacific Bible Institute)
Enrollment 1,200 undergraduate, 1,000 graduate
President D. Merrill Ewert, Ph.D.
National affiliation National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA)
National membership NAIA member since 1965
Region NAIA Region 2
Conference Golden State Athletic Conference (GSAC)
Conference membership GSAC (1986 charter member)
Colors Royal blue, orange & white
Nickname Sunbirds
Mailing Address 1717 South Chestnut Avenue, Fresno, Calif. 93702
Athletics phone 559-453-2009
Athletics fax 559-453-2005
Sportsline  559-453-3636
Athletics director Dennis Janzen (559-453-2074) djanzen@fresno.edu
Associate director JT (Jon) Thiesen (559-453-7180) jthiesen@fresno.edu
Faculty athletic representative Donald Braun, Ph.D. (559-453-2047) debraun@fresno.edu
Head athletic trainer Betsy Shivers (559-453-2274) bshivers@fresno.edu
Athletics secretary Claudia Unruh (559-453-2009) crunruh@fresno.edu
Sports information director Ken Isaak (559-453-2264) kwisaak@fresno.edu
FPU ATHLETIC FACILITIES
Basketball Special Events Center (1,500)
Cross country Woodward Park
Soccer (1) Steinert Field
Soccer (2) Ramirez Field
Tennis Harold & Betty Haak Tennis Complex
Track & field Fresno Pacific Oval
Volleyball Special Events Center (1,500)
TEAM QUICK FACTS
Women
Men
GSAC CHAMPIONSHIPS ^
Baseball (2006) None
Basketball - women (1987) 7 (1987, 89, 92, 94, 95, 96, 02)
Basketball - men (1987) 2 (1990, 91)
Cross country - women (1986) 1 (1986)
Cross country - men (1986) None
Soccer - women (1986) None
Soccer - men (1986) 7 (1991, 92, 98, 99, 02, 03, 05)
Tennis - women (2006) 1 (2006)
Tennis - men (2006) None
Track & field - women (1987) None
Track & field - men (1987) None
Volleyball (1986) 12 (1986, 91, 94, 95, 96, 98, 00, 01, 02, 03, 04, 05)
Total 30